Roxbury was founded in 1740 and has a rich heritage. Originally a center for Iron Mining and forges that supplied George Washington and the Continental Army, the community grew with the cutting of roads east and west and the building of the Morris Canal in 1827. Roxbury was a major hub for the Canal, with Lake Hopatcong as a water source. Four inclined canal planes and two locks were located within Roxbury, with many businesses established during the 19th century to service the canal. Local explosives plants would supply dynamite for the mines and railroad building and employ generations of Roxbury Township residents. By the 1880's the railroad would overtake the canal for commercial transportation and Roxbury exploded in growth with two major, and competing rail lines. By 1890 Roxbury was 'the' gateway to the busy resorts of Lake Hopatcong, one of the region's most popular summer destinations for over 50 years. The coming decades brought a 'boom time' of new train stations, schools, homes and businesses. Today Roxbury is a vibrant township with a top-rated school system with over 3,750 students, and is the gateway to the Lake Hopatcong recreation area. -- from http://www.roxburynewjersey.com/.
For a complete timeline of the Roxbury Township's rich history, visit the Roxbury New Jersey History website here.
The Roxbury Township Historical Society owns and operates the historic "Silas Riggs Saltbox House", dating from the time of the Revolutionary War. Located at 213 Main Street in Ledgewood, it is open on the second Sunday afternoon of each month April thru December. They have published books on Roxbury Township History and sponsor an evening lecture series, open to the public, as well as the very popular "A Saltbox Christmas", an Open House with an Olde Fashioned Soup Supper, held on the first Friday in December.
The Roxbury Historic Trust has responsibility for the "King Canal Store" & the "King Home Museum" at 209-211 Main Street in Ledgewood. The Store and the Homestead Museum are open for tours on the second Sunday of the months of April thru December, from 1-4 PM. Overseen by volunteers from the Trust, this is well worth a visit. Operated by Theodore F. King from 1874 through 1928, the Store was originally built in 1826 and retains its turn of the Century appearance. The Trust is also restoring the adjacent 1881 Victorian House built by the King family. A newly restored Parlor and Exhibition rooms are open to the public. The Trust is very active and invites new members!